• Mon, Jul 23, 2018
gig Reviews

Album Gig

Odds and Ends - Bacardi NH7 Weekender 2013, Pune

Naturally, a three-day music festival will have a lot of things happening, not all of which can be crammed into a review. So we thought we'd have this special section for stray observations made at the Pune edition of the Bacardi NH7 Weekender festival, held on Oct 18-20. Read on for Scribe vs. a heckler, the perils of drinking buckets, the Red Bull Tour Bus, dogs, sugar rushes, and more. Click here to read our complete review of the festival.

gig Oct 23, 2013

By Akhil Sood  

Things I Learned at the Ziro Festival of Music 2013 - I

Bhanuj Kappal went to the beautiful valley of Ziro, Arunachal Pradesh, for the second edition of the Ziro Festival of Music, featuring a host of indie acts from the country, as well as a visit by Lee Ranaldo and The Dust, which has Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley (formerly of Sonic Youth!). He came back a changed man, and has jotted down a comprehensive list of things he learned at the festival. (Part II here.)

gig Oct 18, 2013

 

Things I Learned at the Ziro Festival of Music 2013 - II

Bhanuj Kappal went to the beautiful valley of Ziro, Arunachal Pradesh, for the second edition of the Ziro Festival of Music, featuring a host of indie acts from the country, as well as a visit by Lee Ranaldo and The Dust, which has Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley (formerly of Sonic Youth!). He came back a changed man, and has jotted down a comprehensive list of things he learned at the festival. (Click here for Part I)

gig Oct 18, 2013

By Bhanuj Kappal  

The Scene feat. Until We Last, Pinocchio's Moment of Clarity, and Space Behind the Yellow Room at Blue Frog, Mumbai

Minus its pedestrian name, The Scene – a series of monthly gigs organized by NH7 and Blue Frog – is a great initiative that not only helps young bands by putting them up on the big stage at the Blue Frog, Mumbai early in their lives as performing musicians, but also allows us wastrels and wanderers the opportunity to check out new music. V 6.0 featured three bands which had unusually long and weird names, so Akhil Sood, who calls himself quite the post-rock enthusiast, went to check out the gig. Here are his numbered thoughts:

gig Oct 17, 2013

By Akhil Sood  

Pentagram, Shaa'ir & Func, The Lightyears Explode, and Drawing Short Straws Live at Blue Frog, Delhi

Pentagram with their very first gig at the Blue Frog, Delhi. Shaa’ir + Func and their explosive live act. The Lightyears Explode with their endearing indie-pop-punk thing. And Drawing Short Straws and their hypnotic experimental sound. The Gig Week finale had it all. Aditya Varma was there as our resident documenter.  

gig Oct 03, 2013

By Aditya Varma  

The Family Cheese, Spud in the Box, Nice Weather for Ducks, and Snafu Live at Turquoise Cottage, New Delhi

Our man Aditya Varma headed over to catch The Family Cheese, Spud in the Box, Snafu, and Nice Weather for Ducks, who played at Turquoise Cottage in Delhi on September 24, as part of The Gig Week. Here's what he touch, saw, heard, felt, tasted. 

gig Sep 27, 2013

By Aditya Varma  

RSJ Live Nites ft. Undying Inc, Zygnema, Phobia, and Colossal Figures - Sept. 15, Blue Frog, Delhi

A memorable evening of madness and frenzy ensued at the third edition of RSJ Live Nites, held at the Blue Frog, Delhi on September 15. Colossal Figures, Phobia, and Mumbai's Zygnema, and, of course, the unmatched Undying Inc, all put up explosive shows that had the violent audiences begging for mercy by the end of it. Aditya Varma tells you more.   

gig Sep 17, 2013

 

Bomb.Thursdays at Kino 108 with a Post-Rock Twist

We've covered Bomb.Thursdays at Kino 108 many, many times before in the past, so what's one more. Our man Akhil Sood was there to witness a brilliant gig where the music took centre-stage and a different-ish line-up really worked in the soft, intimate confines of the venue. Read on for more.

gig Sep 16, 2013

 

Harley Rock Riders ft. The Incredible MindFunk, Gravy Train, Barefaced Liar, and The Circus

We landed up at the Harley Rock Riders at Hard Rock Cafe the other day, only to see a potentially great gig wrecked by poor sound and a snoozing audience who just didn't seem like they wanted to be there. Aditya Varma tells you more.

gig Sep 16, 2013

By Aditya Varma  

Post event deviation analysis for The Business School of Rock - IIM Bengaluru

YATIN DAWRA Photos by Abhinav Jerath 1. The Location The many avatars of the corridors at IIM The Objective: The

gig Mar 05, 2013

 

Guns N' Roses - Tour of India : Delhi Leg

Guns N’ Roses were all set to perform in Gurgaon on December 12, and with

gig Dec 14, 2012

 

Third Eye Blind Live at Hard Rock Cafe, Mumbai

BHANUJ KAPPAL As I saw a crowd of 20-something yuppies and alt-bros jumping along to Third

gig Dec 03, 2012

 

Trending
Connect